Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Garden
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-17-2009, 08:35 AM

1 posts, read 11,484 times

Advertisements

Hi -

I will in Houston area in Texas. I am a novice gardener, recently inspired to grow a fragrant garden. A month ago i planted Augusta Gardenia plant and couple of other frost free variety Gardenia plants outside, in the ground. All plants receives full sun and i water 2 to 3 times a week.

The buds in the Augusta gardenia plant are beginning to droop. The other 2 gardenia plants (frost free variety) are doing well. Why are the buds drooping? or is this how the buds looks (normal condition) for Augusta Gardenia? see attached image. Thanks for your help
Attached Thumbnails
Help with Gardenia-img_0001.jpg   Help with Gardenia-img_0002.jpg  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-17-2009, 03:06 PM

7,730 posts, read 14,152,607 times
August Beauties are known to commit suicide. They like lots of water, but not wet feet. They need sunshine, but not too much. They're worse than teenagers.

At the point yours is at, you may be able to fertilize it with half strength Miracle Grow. You need to pull the plant out first though. See if the roots are white. If they are, then add some small gravel to the hole when you replant it. You have to keep water away from their roots. And they need constant moisture, but not too much or too often.