Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Houston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 10-13-2015, 04:15 PM

8 posts, read 9,991 times

Advertisements

Hello all,

I currently live in the SF Bay area and I am planning to move to Houston in the near future. I have visited Houston before and I have found it to be very family friendly and a better cost of living. I am a nurse and my husband is a teacher and we have 2 children. We really like it here the weather can't be beat and I as a nurse will never make as much or have such a great union as a bedside nurse and I know these are things I will miss. But the cost of living, low pay for teachers, the subpar school system, and the constant increasing costs of housing are some of the things making me want to flee. I too have wondered are there people who have moved and regretted. Are there nurses who have moved and regret it? If so, why do you dislike it or regret the move? I have visited Houston and I definitely think it will give us a great lifestyle and a great place to raise our children but I do wonder if I'd ever want to return to the SF Bay area. Any information that you can provide would be helpful in finalizing my decision.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 10-13-2015, 05:58 PM

1,915 posts, read 3,240,851 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Readytosettle13 View Post
Hello all,