Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maryland
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-06-2008, 07:27 PM

460 posts, read 1,878,416 times

Advertisements

Just out of curiousity, I'm wondering if there are stories to be shared of sellers trying to pull b.s. moves in this real estate market. This is my first time buying an existing home and I feel like I just got played on my full price offer to capitulate the other party that was on the periphery.

Essentially we were told some information from the seller, who conveniently happened to be home when we came for our showing, that I think was used to get us to make an offer (we loved the home - they were not in the house when we viewed it- we felt that it was right for us from the moment we walked in. . . this "sharing of info" came later).

I realize these are business transactions but I'm p'o'd right now and just looking to see if anyone else out there has experienced some aggravation along these lines.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 08-07-2008, 04:38 PM

703 posts, read 2,945,136 times
You paid full price in this housing market?!?!??

Old 08-08-2008, 12:34 PM

553 posts, read 1,709,077 times
^ ^ ^
| | |
| | |

What the previous poster said.

It must've been one hell of a property.

Where was it located, and what type of property? The agent I used for my purchase recently said certain types of homes in very specific neighborhoods in DC, Bethesda, and Arlington in certain price ranges are still being snapped up within days, sometimes with multiple bids.