Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Oregon
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-14-2010, 09:29 PM

11 posts, read 22,342 times

Advertisements

My husband and I are considering a move to Oregon. I have been an elementary school teacher in Idaho for the past couple of years. I am trying to find out what it is like to be a teacher in Oregon. What are the pros and cons? How do the health benefits and salary compare to that of other states? How has the recent economy affected education in the state as a whole?

Thank you!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-15-2010, 11:24 AM

15,578 posts, read 40,440,822 times
Teachers are fairly well paid here in comparison to other states. Teacher Salaries By State | Average Salaries For Teachers | Beginning Salaries For Teachers | Teacher Raises | TeacherPortal.com

I'm not a teacher here, but we have a couple from Bend that participate on this forum. You might want to use the search function to type in teachers in Oregon and see what threads come up. You can sent a direct message to any of the participants on the forum.

Old 03-16-2010, 12:04 AM

4,923 posts, read 11,191,210 times
Odds are you will be paid considerably better than in Idaho. I'm out of ed now after 25 years (I could retire after 25 years in the state I was in), and have taught in 4 states including Oregon. Oregon's benefits were great...their retirement was top notch, but during the '90s they began different tiers with newer people not receiving quite as generous retirement benefits.