Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Photography
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-06-2013, 10:03 AM

1,571 posts, read 2,818,394 times

Advertisements

So I want to buy a new DSLR. I don't want to spend more than $1,000.00 for the camera body and a lens or two, so obviously, I'm going for a more affordable DSLR, rather than a really, really nice one. I'm a casual photographer who would like good photos for when my family goes on vacation, and for taking pictures (and/or video) of my kid.

Nikon and Canon seem to be the most popular, and I can get the Nikon 3100 or 5100 for a pretty good price. The Canon T3 and T4 are around the same costs as the Nikons, I believe. So which one is better? Is going for the 5100 over the 3100 worth the extra money (same question for the Canon)? Who has more affordable lenses?

And to throw a wrench into it - I have an SLR from Pentax, which I have a couple basic lenses for (like an 18-55 that came with the body, for instance). I believe Pentax has made all their SLR type cameras so that they could accept all Pentax lenses. So, does it make the most sense for me to get the K30 and buy a slightly more expensive telephoto lens (for going to National Parks), because I wouldn't have to buy basic lenses (I could use the ones I've got)? I've heard that Pentax has far fewer lens choices, though.