Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Relationships
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-09-2018, 10:08 PM

30,902 posts, read 33,017,046 times

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeGuyInFairfax View Post

I don't care about her job/career since how she earns a living does not define who she truly is.
Actually, sometimes it does. I'm a writer. I'm a reader. I'm a researcher and learner. This is how I make my living. I can never remember *not* being and doing these things.

Certainly one's career choice can be a huge part of the person and his/her actual persnality, nature, etc. Many, many people choose a career based on that career being important in a personal way, or being a deep interest, a life's goal, or something else that is very personal. For example, music has always been extremely important to my husband. He has worked in the music industry his entire adult life. It is definitely a huge part of him in a quite literal way.

People may become doctors, be in the military, become architects, teachers, artists, a thousand different things and their careers can be that personal, and yes, will partly define them, so to speak.

Last edited by JerZ; 07-09-2018 at 10:27 PM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-09-2018, 10:15 PM

22,278 posts, read 21,740,695 times
Yes, JerZ. There is a big difference between people who pursue what life offers and those who helplessly let life be inflicted upon them.

Old 07-09-2018, 10:23 PM

10,341 posts, read 5,870,295 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by zentropa View Post