Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Washington
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-17-2017, 01:49 PM

1 posts, read 4,300 times

Advertisements

Hello,

My husband and I (and our dog) are thinking about moving to Washington. California housing prices have increased exponentially, and it is very difficult to make enough to live out here. I am a teacher and my husband works at Target (though, he is currently pursuing other career opportunities). We both just returned from teaching English through the JET Programme in Japan after four years, and we're flabbergasted at how hard it is to get a reasonable paying job out here and an affordable place to live.

We're looking for an apartment that's under $1200, if possible. How hard is it to find jobs out there? Where should I start looking? I have to look into teaching out of state and what needs to be done in order for Washington to recognize my credential, but I just want to get a feel for what it's like to move out there.

I suppose we want to live in the suburbs more so than in rural areas. We also would like to be close (relatively) to some Japanese markets since we cook a lot of meals our neighbors in Japan taught us.

Any advice or information you can offer is greatly appreciated! Or, if you need any more information from me, please let me know!

Thank you in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-17-2017, 02:05 PM

1,889 posts, read 2,198,110 times