Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Virginia > Northern Virginia
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-05-2007, 08:01 PM

5 posts, read 22,801 times

Advertisements

Hi, I am new to this post. I am currently interviewing for a job in Arlington, VA. I currently live in South Fla.

I am debating if I even take this job, where the best place to live would be? Arlington, another area of NOVA or Maryland.

We can spend up to $550k (though would like to stay around 500), and have 2 sons that I want to send to public school. The schools in Fla. are absolutely horrible (read..48th out of 50 in the US), so good schools are important. Also, we are Jewish, so I don't want to be in an area where there are no synagogues, etc...

Finally, with all the talk about commutes, I don't think I would want more than 45 min. each way.

Any suggestions, are appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-05-2007, 08:12 PM

37 posts, read 150,907 times
I think that there is more of a Jewish population in Montgomery County -- I taught with two Jewish colleagues who both commuted from Maryland for this reason. I believe they both lived near Potomac, MD. Both Fairfax County and Montgomery County have very good schools. Commutewise, I would think living in Fairfax County would be better. They do have synagogues in the area: Synagogues In Northern Virginia (http://gunston.gmu.edu/hillel/synagogues.html - broken link)

Old 07-05-2007, 09:26 PM

2,408 posts, read 14,395,579 times