Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Parenting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 07-19-2014, 10:14 AM

61,288 posts, read 87,413,299 times

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by 601halfdozen0theother View Post
What about all the fools who send their children to the library all day while they are at work?

As a former librarian I can tell you absolutely that is not safe at all. Libraries are full of mentally unstable people, even in small towns. Librarians aren't child care workers; they have a million other things to do and can't always keep an eye on every single child that is in the library.

Working parents now do have it hard, and I think every situation is different.

But in most communities it's wise to not leave your kids in the park or library alone.

Not that it should be an arrestable offense - which ends up costing communities money. Communities would be better off spending money on summer childcare options.
this is tragic the library was my favorite place when a child in chicago. gone are the days.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-19-2014, 10:24 AM

90,297 posts, read 120,747,599 times
I have been following this thread for several days. Today, I was reading my local paper's religion section; it referenced the upcoming Vacation Bible Schools in my area. Even if the mom has no money for day care and no particular interest in religion, she could have sent her daughter to VBS for a week at various churches. It would give the poor child something to do and some supervision for a few hours. Many of them help with transportation.