U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 1.5 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
Jump to a detailed profile or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Business Search - 14 Million verified businesses
Search for:  near: 
 
 
Unread 10-04-2006, 09:51 PM
 
Location: Olympia, WA
19 posts, read 93,666 times
Reputation: 17
Default Unique Texan Laws?

I plan to move from the Seattle area to Austin by spring. I have never moved to another state before and was wondering if there are any unique or strict laws I should be aware of so I donít break them when I get there! Along those lines, can you think of any laws that are common in most states, but donít exist in Texas?

Just laws about everyday life (driving, insurance, marriage, employment, etc.) Not laws that have been on the books since it was written and never looked at since.

If they are common to most states, no need to mention them, but if others have moved around and landed in TX and noticed anything of interest, it would be good to know!

Is there an online resource besides the official state code with all that legal jargon that I can find common laws of the land in laymanís terms?

Thanks!
Quick reply to this message

 
Unread 10-04-2006, 10:00 PM
 
Location: Western Bexar County
3,823 posts, read 9,238,966 times
Reputation: 1754
Default DWI Surcharges

This law was passed in 2003 and may be unique. It concerns DWI convictions and what cost affect it will have on your driver license. BTW: Normal cost is $24 for 6 years.

DWI "SURCHARGE" - applies only to convictions obtained after September 1, 2003The Texas Department of Public Safety will assess a yearly "surcharge" (for up to three years) on the drivers license of anyone who has been convicted of DWI within the preceding thirty-six months. The amount of the surcharge is as follows:

1. $1000 per year- if no prior DWI convictions in the preceding thirty-six months, and provided that an alcohol concentration level of less than 0.16 is not proved at trial.

2. $1500 per year- if there has been a DWI conviction within the preceding thirty-six months.

3. $2000 per year- if proved at trial that an alcohol concentration of 0.16 or greater existed at the time that the analysis was performed.
Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 10-05-2006, 07:52 AM
 
Location: Austin, TX
8,091 posts, read 15,968,133 times
Reputation: 3189
Hmm...what comes to mind?
1 - I am sure there are some interesting gun laws (or lack of ) but I don't have a gun (really!), so I am not sure.

2 - This is a common property state if you get married, so if you divorce, everything gets split down the middle but there is no alimony.

3 - Liquor (not wine/beer) can only be sold in liquor stores, which must close by 9 pm and must be closed on Sundays (state law). Areas in north/northeast Texas may have local laws that are much stricter.

4 - Beer/wine can be sold in grocery stores, as well as liquor stores, up until midnight (1 am on sat night/sun morning), but not again on sunday until after noon (or 1? not sure).

5 - No income tax, but higher property tax (re: your other post, when looking at rent, you have to remember that the property tax is included, kinda making up for no income tax).

6 - Auto registration is not required to be carried in your car (I found out the hard way that it is in other states).

7 - Texas is a 'right-to-work' state, so you cannot be forced to join a union, and there aren't near as many unions here as some other places.

8 - I know in Oregon, they would not let me pump gas, but not sure about WA. Anyway, you can pump your own gas here......

I am sure there are others. Anyone else?
Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 10-06-2006, 06:08 PM
 
Location: East Texas
138 posts, read 526,146 times
Reputation: 46
Quote: Beer/wine can be sold in grocery stores, as well as liquor stores, up until midnight (1 am on sat night/sun morning), but not again on sunday until after noon (or 1? not sure).

There are many "dry" counties in Texas where beer/wine/liquor cannot be sold at all. But they have "private clubs" where they can be sold. My "dry" city of 100,000 has no liquor/wine/beer sales but over 70 "private clubs" in restaurants and country clubs. Membership is required but is free in most instances.
Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 10-06-2006, 07:35 PM
 
Location: Houston, Texas
8 posts, read 32,121 times
Reputation: 11
You DO have to have a front license plate in Texas. I know some states where it isn't required.
There is a limit on how dark you tint your front windows. And you can get a ticket for it.
Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 10-06-2006, 07:51 PM
 
Location: Aledo, TX
26 posts, read 87,575 times
Reputation: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by etexbill View Post
Quote: Beer/wine can be sold in grocery stores, as well as liquor stores, up until midnight (1 am on sat night/sun morning), but not again on sunday until after noon (or 1? not sure).

There are many "dry" counties in Texas where beer/wine/liquor cannot be sold at all. But they have "private clubs" where they can be sold. My "dry" city of 100,000 has no liquor/wine/beer sales but over 70 "private clubs" in restaurants and country clubs. Membership is required but is free in most instances.
This has been my biggest adjustment, and I don't even drink all that much. I was going to visit a friend and stopped by a store to pick up a bottle of wine and was advised I was in a "dry county." I had never heard of such nonsense! I later looked this subject up online and found that you can't even posess more than a very small amount of alcohol in these counties. Crazy stuff.
Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 10-06-2006, 08:48 PM
 
Location: Olympia, WA
19 posts, read 93,666 times
Reputation: 17
Very intersting about the dry counties. Are there blue laws there where alcohol cannot be served on sundays in restaurants or just sold in liquor stores?
Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 10-06-2006, 09:11 PM
 
Location: Austin TX
1,209 posts, read 4,247,434 times
Reputation: 367
Just a clarification on the community property laws that Trainwreck outlined in #2...I believe I am correct on this (I am a recovering attorney ) and someone can feel free to clarify or tell me I'm off base

community property means that anything acquired during the marriage is considered common property and split 50/50 in the event of divorce. However, any assets/property acquired prior to the marriage, or certain other assets/property acquired during the marriage, are not considered common and the original "owner" keeps all. For example, if a couple is married and one of them inherits $$ from their family, that is considered separate property even though it was inherited during the marriage. Or if one of them owned a home prior to the marriage, that would be likely considered separate property as well.

Don't take this as legal advice, but legal reminiscences from a ex-lawyer!It's been 10 years, so I may be rusty

So, not everything gets split

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trainwreck20 View Post
Hmm...what comes to mind?
1 - I am sure there are some interesting gun laws (or lack of ) but I don't have a gun (really!), so I am not sure.

2 - This is a common property state if you get married, so if you divorce, everything gets split down the middle but there is no alimony.

3 - Liquor (not wine/beer) can only be sold in liquor stores, which must close by 9 pm and must be closed on Sundays (state law). Areas in north/northeast Texas may have local laws that are much stricter.

4 - Beer/wine can be sold in grocery stores, as well as liquor stores, up until midnight (1 am on sat night/sun morning), but not again on sunday until after noon (or 1? not sure).

5 - No income tax, but higher property tax (re: your other post, when looking at rent, you have to remember that the property tax is included, kinda making up for no income tax).

6 - Auto registration is not required to be carried in your car (I found out the hard way that it is in other states).

7 - Texas is a 'right-to-work' state, so you cannot be forced to join a union, and there aren't near as many unions here as some other places.

8 - I know in Oregon, they would not let me pump gas, but not sure about WA. Anyway, you can pump your own gas here......

I am sure there are others. Anyone else?
Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 10-06-2006, 09:50 PM
 
Location: Western Bexar County
3,823 posts, read 9,238,966 times
Reputation: 1754
Default Winnings?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gigi927 View Post
Just a clarification on the community property laws that Trainwreck outlined in #2...I believe I am correct on this (I am a recovering attorney ) and someone can feel free to clarify or tell me I'm off base

community property means that anything acquired during the marriage is considered common property and split 50/50 in the event of divorce. However, any assets/property acquired prior to the marriage, or certain other assets/property acquired during the marriage, are not considered common and the original "owner" keeps all. For example, if a couple is married and one of them inherits $$ from their family, that is considered separate property even though it was inherited during the marriage. Or if one of them owned a home prior to the marriage, that would be likely considered separate property as well.

Don't take this as legal advice, but legal reminiscences from a ex-lawyer!It's been 10 years, so I may be rusty

So, not everything gets split
How about if one of them wins the Texas Lotto while married?
Quick reply to this message
 
Unread 10-06-2006, 09:53 PM
 
Location: Houston, Texas
8 posts, read 32,121 times
Reputation: 11
You can shoot anyone trying to steal your car at night.


I know this used to be so, I can remember reading about some repo-man who was killed and the shooter didn't even have to go to court.
Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


 
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Options
X
Data:
Loading data...
Based on 2000-2011 data
Loading data...

123
Hide US histogram

Over $74,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2014, Advameg, Inc.

City-Data.com - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25 - Top