Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Automotive
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-17-2021, 12:35 PM

37,307 posts, read 39,688,910 times

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pavlov's Dog View Post
FYI half of all new cars sold in Norway are EVs. Norway is a cold country. It's not a big deal.

I sell fuel for a living and I can tell you a lot of diesel and gasoline is also used for heating (and cooling). When it gets cold we sell a lot more fuel because people idle their vehicles a lot more than than comfortable ambient temperatures. Diesel is also a very poor cold weather fuel and clogged filters due to waxation is a massive problem.

Right, Norway's climate is as cold or colder than that of where most people in the US live. However, you were responding to someone in Fairbanks, Alaska and that is notably colder and with longer durations of cold than Oslo or even Tromsø. The coldest month of Tromsø is January and their average low is about -6C. The average low for Fairbanks in its coldest month is -27C. That is a very substantial difference. I think it's reasonable to expect that residents of Fairbanks will want substantially more improvements to EVs before it's as usable for them as an ICE vehicle would. Granted, Fairbanks isn't the most populous place in the world, but the poster you were responding to is from there and has a good point for his local situation even if it doesn't hold for the vast majority of the rest of the US.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-17-2021, 02:23 PM

484 posts, read 358,059 times