Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Hawaii > Big Island
 [Register]
Big Island The Island of Hawaii
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-29-2021, 05:32 PM

29 posts, read 37,613 times

Advertisements

Hi, I am thinking about relocating to the Hilo area. I have family who lives in Keauu. I would be looking for an apartment to rent. Are there many complexes in the area? How much is the typical rent for a 1 or 2 bedroom apartment? I would also be looking for a job. I am a special education teacher who specializes in children who have been diagnosed with autism. I am also a board certified behavior analyst and would be applying for Hawaii LBA licensure. How hard it is to get a job working with the students I enjoy working with. How difficult is it to transfer my NYS teaching licenses to a Hawai’i license.
I know these are all questions I can ask my family, however they have only been there for a few years and are both retired so my circumstances are different.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-30-2021, 09:11 AM

5,529 posts, read 12,669,721 times
There have been a couple of discussions here recently (pre-COVID) addressing your questions. I suggest you read through them, especially the ones about teaching jobs. You'll find some lively discussions!

Your family is on the ground close to Hilo, closer to almost everyone on this forum. They would probably be the most help with your questions about apartments.

Here's one recent thread: //www.city-data.com/forum/big-i...oods-work.html