Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Parenting
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-26-2012, 04:35 AM

201 posts, read 490,699 times

Advertisements

I am a step parent of a child who is off to college but because he is really my wife's child and he was off to college when we got married I can say I have no experience being around many young people.

OK, with that in mind I need advice from parents and others that understand the mentality of kids in their late teens.

My sister's son decided he wanted to move to the East Coast to go to college and picked a University about 75 miles from where I live. I really did not know the young man very well because he lived 2000 miles away and I only saw him occasionally. My sister decided, without any real involvement from me, I that her son (age 19) would spend his school Holidays, such as Spring, Fall and Thanksgiving Breaks, at our house because the dorm is closed.

I am struggling as a middle aged person, who did not have children in my 20s, 30s or 40s, to understand the mentality of someone 19 years old. My 19 year old nephew, when he comes to stay at my home, is moody, quiet, distracted and a lousy conversationalist 60% of the time. The other 40% of the time he is kind of manic and outgoing. I have never seen anyone change their mood so often in one day. I can't relate because I am always pretty much in a good mood and talkative most of the time.