Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Pennsylvania
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-08-2007, 05:01 PM

5,297 posts, read 6,292,677 times

Advertisements

Quote:
Oil City is a great little town with alot of nice old homes available very inexpensively. it is my opinion that the real estate market in Oil City has bottomed out and is on the rebound. Other areas close to Oil City to look at are Franklin and Seneca.
I live in Franklin and I am a self employed Plumber. i work in alot of the homes in the Oil City area. Generally, all of the homes need some attention but you can purchase a nice old home and put a few dollars into repairs and end up with a very nice home at a very attractive price.
Someone mentioned that we have a "Red Neck" feel, Maybe but for the most part you will not find better or nicer people than here in Venango County.
Finally, something positive about Oil City and Venango County! I was born in Oil City, grew up there in the 50's and 60's and have many warm memories of the area. At that time it was a vital area and a good place to spend one's childhood. I left Western PA for California in the mid 70's. Right before I left the area, I was living in a little pink house outside of Franklin. (Springville). I have often thought of returning to my roots because, frankly, California is a foreign country now and too crowded for any kind of quality of life.
So, thank you Plumber1, for your positive take on the area.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------